What if…

What if students chose problems – real world or philosophical to work on instead of courses?

What if each student assembled the team of teachers best suited to help him or her tackle the problem?

What if teachers spent their days meeting with and guiding students and planning was based on student need and not a set curriculum?

What if kids saw school as a lab in which to work on problems and issues that have relevance in the world rather than as something to endure along the way to the “real world”?

What if school connected to the real world rather than tried to imitate the real world as a way to prepare students?

2 thoughts on “What if…

    • I really think it requires a leap that my colleagues are not prepared to take. I can see the end product myself, I think, but it am not really sure how to get there. I don’t know if you can start tearing down the walls and creating a parallel system while still maintaining a traditional structure. My modest attempt will be my senior elective where students will co-create the curriculum – it will be what they want it to be.

Leave a Reply

